Important Years in Modern History of India

Cn, Important Years in Modern History of India,, Black blackground

Here is the list of the important events in the modern history of India which are often asked in the competitive exams like SSC,  RRB, Intelligence Bureau, etc.

1757 AD
Battle of Plassey fought between Nawab of Bengal Siraj-Ud-Daula and British East India Company under the leadership of Robert Clive, in which Nawab was defeated and the British established their political rule in India.
1761 AD
Third Battle of Panipat between Marathas and Afghans led by Ahmed Shah Abdali
1764 AD
Battle of Buxar between British East India Company and the combined forces of Mir Qasim (Nawab of Bengal), Shuja-Ud-Daula (Nawab of Awadh) and Mughal Emperor Shah Alam.
1765 AD
Robert Clive was appointed as British East India Company’s Governor.
1767 – 1769 AD
First Anglo – Mysore War between British and Haider Ali in which Britishers were defeated and signed the Treaty of Madras.
1773 AD
Regulating Act of 1773
1773 AD
Warren Hastings was appointed as the first Governor General of Bengal
1775 AD
First Anglo- Maratha War
1780 – 1784 AD
Second Anglo – Mysore War fought between the British and Haider Ali. Haider Ali was defeated. Treaty of Mangalore was signed by Tipu Sultan, son of Haider Ali.
1784 AD
Pitts India Act
1790 – 92 AD
Third Anglo – Mysore War, the treaty of Seringapatnam was signed.
1793 AD
Permanent Settlement of Bengal
1799 AD
Fourth Anglo – Mysore War in which Tipu Sultan died
1802 AD
Treaty of Bassein between British East India Company and Baji Rao II
1803 – 05 AD
Second Anglo – Maratha War between British and Marathas
1806 AD
Vellore Mutiny
1809 AD
Treaty of Amritsar between British East India Company and Ranjit Singh
1814 AD
Raja Ram Mohan Ry established Atmiya Sabha
1817 -1818 AD
Third Anglo – Maratha War, Baji Rao II was defeated
1823 - 1826 AD
Anglo – Burmese War
1829 AD
Sati system was abolished
1839 AD
First Anglo-Afghan War
1845 - 1846 AD
First Anglo – Sikh War
1853 AD
First Train Service started Bombay and Thane
1856 AD
Hindu Widows’ Remarriage Act was drafted by Lord Dalhousie.
1857 AD
First War of Independence/ Sepoy Mutiny
1857 AD
India’s first three universities were established, the University of Mumbai, University of Madras and University of Calcutta.
1869 AD
Mahatma Gandhi was born
1873 AD
Satyashodhak Samaj was established by Jyotirao Phule
1875 AD
Arya Samaj was established
1875 AD
Sir Syed Ahmed Khan established Mohammedan Anglo-Oriental College which later became Aligarh Muslim University.
1875 AD
Deccan Riots by peasants of Maharashtra in parts of Pune, Satara, and Ahmednagar
1877 AD
Delhi Durbar organized by British
1885 AD
Indian National Congress was established by A.O. Hume
1903 AD
British invasion of Tibet, also known as Younghusband Expedition
1905 AD
Partition of Bengal by Lord Curzon
1906 AD
Jugantar was established by Aurobindo Ghosh, Bhupendranath Datta, and Raja Subodh Mallik.
1907 AD
The Surat Split, INC was divided into two groups – the extremists and the moderates
1909 AD
Morley – Minto Reforms
1911 AD
Re-unification of Bengal
1911 AD
Shifting of capital from Calcutta to Delhi
1913 AD
Formation of Ghadar Party
1914 AD
World War I began
1916 AD
Lucknow Pact between Congress and the Muslim League
1917 AD
Champaran Satyagraha
1918 AD
Kheda Satyagraha
1919 AD
Jallianwala Bagh Massacre in Amritsar
1919 AD
Montagu – Chelmsford reforms
1919 AD
Rowlatt Act was passed
1920 AD
Non – Cooperation Movement
1922 AD
Chauri Chaura incident in Gorakhpur
1924 AD
Hindustan Socialist Republican association was formed by Bhagat Singh, Chandrasekhar Azad, Sukhdev Thapar, and others.
1927 AD
Boycott of Simon Commission
1928 AD
Bardoli Satyagraha
1929 AD
Resolution of Poorna Swaraj
1930 AD
Salt Satyagraha (Dandi March) which led to Nonviolent Civil Disobedience Movement by Mahatma Gandhi.
1930 AD
First Round Table Conference
1931 AD
Gandhi Irwin Pact
1931 AD
Second Round Table Conference
1932 AD
Poona Pact
1932 AD
Third Round Table Conference
1935 AD
Government of India Act
1939 AD
World War II begins
1940 AD
Lahore Resolution
1942 AD
Cripps Mission
1942 AD
Quit India Movement
1942 AD
Formation of Indian Nation Army by Subhash Chandra Bose
1945 AD
Simla Conference
1946 AD
Cabinet Mission
1947 AD
Partition of India


No comments:

Post a Comment